jump to navigation

Legacy Post – Who I Am – Part 001 (originally published 06.28.08) 27 June 2009

Posted by splait in Uncategorized.
trackback

My name is Sid Plait. I am a graduate of Georgia Tech in Information and Computer Sciences, and I worked for high technology corporations in and around Atlanta, Georgia for over 21 years. I spent most of that time concerned with what my clients needed and wanted, and making sure that what we developed was as easy to use as possible. At some point, way too long after I’d had enough of Corporate America, I left it and went out on my own. I love consulting, and work with homeowners and very small businesses from downtown Atlanta to points north, from Decatur to Vinings, Roswell, And Alpharetta.

My main areas of expertise are:

  • Macs and Windows PCs (fixing, maintaining, and upgrading)
  • Networking (wired and wireless)
  • Technology integration (getting your iPod, iPhone, Treo, Blackberry, media server, and whatever else comes along talking to your network and assisting in organizing your life, putting your record albums into digital format, hooking up an external drive for backups, etc.)
  • Virus and other malware removal
  • Disaster planning
  • Data recovery from failed hard drives
  • Recycling electronics properly
  • Destroying hard drives from old computers so no one can get to your data

I also love to teach my clients as much as they want to know about their computing environment, and I do it using plain English, so that it’s easy for them to “get it”.

When my clients graduate to servers, I refer them to several different people here that I love to work with and are associates of mine that will provide them with the same level of support and respect I gave them while I worked for them.

I have lived in the Atlanta area since 1972. I love my wife, daughter, her fiance, and my dog; music (most types); movies; science fiction; mysteries; the occasional Oprah Book Club book;  college basketball and baseballPowerCore; the wonders of the universe beyond our planet; and volunteering at the Georgia Aquarium several times a month.

I am not fond of, nor am I very tolerant of people who hate, people who repeat things they hear or read on the Internet without doing their own research on the subject, people who lie to get power and/or money, and people who refuse to listen to both sides of an argument and think about the information from the side opposed to them.  These people may become targets of future posts here.  If you ever catch me doing any of those things through this blog (or anywhere else), call me on it.

Hopefully, there are a few people left who don’t fit that profile.

Oh yeah, I also like Waffle House, the Cuban sandwich at Fancy Pantry (ask for it crispy!), food in general, and writing.

I use a Mac as my main computer (PowerBook G4, 1.5GHz, 1GB RAM, 250GB hard drive), and I have a number of PCs running different Windows operating systems.

This blog will be about things that I love, and some that I don’t.

Please feel free to comment on anything I write, but do so nicely. BE CIVIL, no matter how much that hurts. (If you’re not sure what ‘being civil’ means, go here.)  I reserve the right to remove any comments or whole postings by anyone who is rude or mean. Even to the point of blocking that individual from posting at all if s/he doesn’t understand the rules.  After all, it’s my blog, not yours.

I hope you find these pages interesting and fun (much of the time, anyway). If there are topics you would like me to address, please write me by cutting and pasting the following into your browser’s address bar: blog”at”plaitsolutions”dot”com.   MAKE SURE you change the word “at” (with the quotes) to @, and the word “dot” (with the quotes) to a period. I did it this way for security purposes.

Trust me.  Internet privacy and security are true passions of mine, as you will see in posts on my other blog.

I look forward to meeting you through this medium.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

