jump to navigation

What’s in MY Wallet? Moths. 3 July 2009

Posted by splait in Uncategorized.
trackback

I love eBay.

eBay has made it less expensive (as a businessperson) to buy the products I need for my clients and for myself. For most things I use, I can find a price on eBay that makes me happy.

In addition, eBay has made it easier to find things I want that, pre-eBay, were not easily found.  Movies, books, filling in my comic collection.  I can even buy whatever I am looking for from someone in Australia or England or South Africa.  eBay knows no boundaries in that regard.

It’s great!

I hate eBay.

Ever since I was a kid, I have collected things – baseball cards, comic books, scifi books, coins, stamps, comic character figurines.  I can’t tell you how many different collections of things I have had over the last 45+ years or so.  There were times when I collected certain things because I was pretty certain they would have value in the future.  Someone else would want my things and be willing to pay more for them from me than I paid originally so they would become their things. (Bwahaha!)

Only eBay makes it much easier for people to find the things they want now.

I took Economics in college.  I know about supply and demand.

eBay didn’t change the demand, it changed the supply.

Now, if some kid wants a copy of Batman #101 (for instance), s/he just has to go to the eBay site and search for it.  If there isn’t one available right now, wait a week.  Someone will sell one.  Or check it every day.  It’s easy with the Saved Searches feature.

So, the 12,000 comic books I have in my attic aren’t worth much anymore, and that’s a bummer.

On the plus side, eBay has made it easier to sell, also.  Now I have the entire world to sell to instead of just the comic buyers in Atlanta or at a comic convention.

Would I prefer to not have eBay?  Nope.  It’s just one of those unexpected (by me) results of progress.

Comments»

1. Thomas Siefert - 3 July 2009

One of the things I hated leaving behind, when we left Singapore, was the easy access to all the things a hardcore electronics gadget boy can only dream of.
I could spend days and often did at Sim Lim Square, the nearby Sim Lim Tower or the Funan Centre. All the latest gadgets, some that will only turn up in the west months later or not at all, is there for real to be touched, poked at and spun in all 11 dimensions (or however many the latest theory on reality say there is) for close inspection.
When the new 56K modems was released, in an event similar to Playstation or iPod releases, I went in there a couple of days later in the hope that I might pick up a price reduced 33.6K modem to replace my old 14.4K one. No such luck, they do not like to have outdated items on their shelves and I ended up buying a 56K V0.90 that served me well until I got broadband. I always wondered what happened to all those old modems, I mean, the week before there was thousands and as soon as the new ones were introduced; POOF!, gone.
A few years later, in Australia, most shops still had the 33.6K modem as the mainstream selling item, while the 56K ones was only on display in glass cabinets for high-end spenders. That’s what happened to the shelf-retired modems from Singapore.

Now eBay can provide me with all this, but it’s more fun finding them for real in a shop.

2. IVAN3MAN - 13 July 2009

Hmm… I was wondering why your Computer and Networking blog had gone quiet, so after checking it, I then realized that I had totally forgotten that you now have a new blog here.

Anyway, sometime ago, while I was checking out the vintage electronics section of eBay, some guy, in the U.K., was selling a 1950/60s model Vacuum Tube Tester. One of the responses came from Vietnam, of all places, enquiring (quoted here verbatim): “How much ship to Ho Chi Minh City?”

That made me chuckle because it shows that no matter what race, creed, or colour you are, we are all the same here on this planet Earth, with similar interests in Life, the Universe, and Everything .

My point being that if the commie-obsessed, paranoid politicians in the American administration, during the Cold War, had ordered the B-52s to drop of crates of Coca-Cola and other American goodies instead of bombs onto North Vietnam, then maybe the whole of Vietnam would have embraced capitalism much sooner rather than much later. It is unfortunate that the Internet was not around then; otherwise, history might have been different.

3. TS - 24 January 2010

Hmmm… No moths here, but I do think I can hear a cricket 😉


Leave a Reply

